Governor’s Arts Awards

Governor’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts

Celebrating the Significance of the Arts in the State of New Mexico

The Governor’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts were established in 1974 by then Governor Bruce King and First Lady Alice King to celebrate the significance of the arts to the State of New Mexico. Nominations are accepted from interested individuals and art organizations statewide culminating in an exhibition and awards ceremony each year when the Governor acknowledges the extraordinary achievements and contributions of New Mexican artists, arts organizations, and arts supporters.

2024 Awards Celebration

The State Arts Commission and New Mexico Arts look forward to finally celebrating our honorees at an in-person celebration in October of 2024. We are planning to recognize the Details about the event will be forthcoming.

The New Mexico Arts Commission and the New Mexico Arts Division announce a call for nominations for the 2024 Governor’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts. Each year, the Governor recognizes the extraordinary contributions and achievement of individuals and organizations in New Mexico.

Nominations are only open to organizations and living artists in New Mexico. Nominations may be made by any New Mexico resident except for New Mexico Arts Commissioners and New Mexico Arts Division staff. Please note: Galleries may not nominate artists they represent. Self-nominations and nominations by immediate family or members of the same household will not be accepted.

View a complete list of past Governor’s Arts Awards recipients here:

2023 Award Recipients

Paula Castillo, Visual Artist, Belén

View Website

J.C. Cervantes, Author, Las Cruces

View Website

Raven Chacon (Diné), Musician, Composer and Artist, Albuquerque

View Website

Judy and Ray Dewey, Major Contributors to the Arts, Albuquerque

Jim Harris, Major Contributor to the Arts, Hobbs

View Website

Patricia Michaels (Taos Pueblo), Fashion Designer, Taos

View Website

Mark Ian Saxe, Stone Sculptor, Dixon

View Website

Judy Tuwaletstiwa, Visual Artist, Galisteo

View Website

Page header image, New Mexico State Capital. Program button image, Patricia Michaels receives the 2023 Governor’s Award from Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham and New Mexico Arts Commission Chair, Nancy Cooper.

Scroll to Top