Photos 2024

We are pleased to present this year's nine state finalists from the 2024 New Mexico Poetry Out Loud Recitation Contest.

New Mexico Poetry Out Loud is made possible by the National Endowment for the Arts and The Poetry Foundation. It is produced and directed in New Mexico by the state arts agency New Mexico Arts, in accordance with our agreement with the Endowment.


  • Kaitlyn Lubega: UWC-USA, Montezuma, Teacher - Kate Riberio (STATE CHAMPION)
  • Nakia Thomas: Carlsbad High School, Carlsbad, Teacher - Erin Armendarez (RUNNER UP)
  • Ariana Thiel-Hadjilambrinos: La Cueva High School, Albuquerque, Teacher -Rosemary Hood
  • Seth McLaughlin: V. Sue Cleveland High School, Rio Rancho , Teacher - Daniel Schneider
  • Dante Salim: Volcano Vista High School, Albuquerque, Teacher - Desiree Montoya
  • Ulani Radtke: Arrowhead Park Early College High School, Las Cruces, Teacher - Kernie Zimmerman
  • Noor Kaur: Cottonwood Classical Preparatory School, Albuquerque, Teacher - Heather Blanchard
  • Jasper Goldberg: Public Academy for Performing Arts, Albuquerque, Teacher - Aimee Wray
  • Sama Lilo: Albuquerque School of Excellence, Albuquerque, Teacher - Ma. Gloria M. King

Kaitlyn Lubega, 2024 New Mexico Poetry Out Loud Champion
Jessica Helen Lopez: Event Coordinator
Michelle Laflamme-Childs: Femcee
Kevin Lenkner, Program Coordinator
EmiArteFlamenco Youth de Santa
Photos by Light Benders Visuals