New Mexico Arts Commission

The New Mexico Arts Commission is the advisory body for New Mexico Arts, a division of the Department of Cultural Affairs. The Commission has 15 members appointed by the governor. Commissioners serve three-year terms.


The mission of the Arts Commission, in conjunction with New Mexico Arts, is to stimulate opportunities for artists, arts organizations, and other groups for activities or projects to provide artistic or cultural services to the state, to maintain and encourage artistic excellence, and to promote awareness of and access to the arts for all of the people of New Mexico.

Commission Duties

  • Advises the New Mexico Arts Director, Department of Cultural Affairs (DCA), and state government in general, including the Governor.
  • Advises the Division Director on all division policies, after receiving information requisite to such advice.
  • Is consulted regarding disbursement of program funds.
  • Is kept informed regarding the financial affairs of the division.
  • Consults with the Division Director prior to the Director approving, disapproving, or modifying the distribution of grant funds.
  • Works as a team with the Division Director to accomplish the mission of New Mexico Arts.
  • Advocates for New Mexico Arts to home communities, DCA, and New Mexico government in general.
  • Responsible for being knowledgeable about laws governing the commission, by-laws of the commission, and commission policies.
  • Responsible for approval or rejection of applications for designation of Arts and Cultural Districts.


The Arts Commission holds quarterly meetings, usually in January, February/March, May/June, and November. A Planning and Budget Committee meeting is held in May to review grant funding. Meetings are open to the public. Meeting dates, times, and locations are posted on the Arts Commission meeting calendar.PDF File


The New Mexico Arts Commission Regular Meeting and Agenda for June 3rd, 2021PDF File

Commissioner Biographies


  • Wren Prather-Stroud, Carlsbad, Secretary Commissioner Bio
  • JoAnn Balzer, Santa Fe Commissioner Bio
  • Fred Barraza, Silver City Commissioner Bio
  • Nancy Cooper, Albuquerque Commissioner Bio
  • Glenn Cutter, Mesilla Commissioner Bio
  • Maria Kompare, Farmington Commissioner Bio
  • Mary Lyle, Hobbs Commissioner Bio
  • Tom Maguire, Santa Fe Commissioner Bio
  • Mary Peña Noskin, Albuquerque Commissioner Bio
  • Terri Salazar, Los Ranchos Commissioner Bio